Why am I an Ebony avatar?

Lately there has been a bit of flack going about in the blogosphere and Plurk realms about the propriety of gender and race bending. Is it right, wrong, or what? All I can say is that if you don’t understand that an avatar is form of expression and not a depiction of reality, then what the hell are you doing here? The only person who I think even comes close to representing their true selves is Rik Riel. He went to the trouble of having his real life face meshed to his avatar. His activities also pretty much mirror what he does in the real world. Aside from Rik most everyone else in SL portray themselves differently than their RL selves. Some even go to extremes. How many of us are tiny rabbits and squirrels in RL?

In my case I deliberately chose to wear a black skin. I am white in RL and have no aspirations to be anything other than what I really am. In SL I have the freedom to chose. I chose an ebony look because I find it appealing, interesting and fresh. In my own way I am also honoring all those wonderful black women in my life. The beauties, the confident, the lively and the powerful women I have admired. Black is beautiful baby! And you know what? You don’t have to be black in RL to appreciate it, honestly! .Ā  NEVER let anyone tell you that you can’t do anything you want. A narrow view of the world guarantees you’ll miss out on all the sights and get blindsided from time to time.

Power Poses

Sunset glow on Nowhereville

Beach wear on Nowhereville

Peace!

