Today in Plurk Honour McMillan referenced an article that stated that the 1985 Dire Straits song “Money for Nothing” is to be banished from the Canadian broadcast spectrum. Apparently a touchy Newfie was offended by the term “faggot” in the lyrics. I think we can all agree in most cases it is a pejorative word but in the context of the song it mocks the attitudes of the low brow “microwave installers“.

To Quote Knopfler

“The lead character in “Money for Nothing” is a guy who works in the hardware department in a television/custom kitchen/refrigerator/microwave appliance store. He’s singing the song. I wrote the song when I was actually in the store. I borrowed a bit of paper and started to write the song down in the store. I wanted to use a lot of the language that the real guy actually used when I heard him, because it was more real….”

Tis’ a shame when our shared culture can be erased by those who have nothing better to do than take offense at everything in the world.  Real life isn’t pretty and it has it’s rough edges. Showing the world the less savory parts is not a way to glorify it. Most everyone I know wouldn’t like to be like that bigoted installer. So sorry Mr Whiny Newfie even if you erase the song or have it censored there will still be blokes like him in the world.  I am still going to play these songs.

Oh, I guess Canada better get to these songs banned too. God  forbid ZZ-Top gets away with saying “shit” and The Who with “fuck”the past 28-33 years.


Come listen to my music

